António Manuel de Almeida Costa

Collaborator Researcher

Graduated on the 17th February 1979 in the  Faculty of Law of the University of Coimbra (FDUC), with a grade of Very Good with Distinction and Honours (18/20). In the same year, he was hired as an assistant by that Faculty, position he held until 1997, when he moved to the Oporto University Faculty of Law.
In 1980 and 1982 he was a member of the Committees for the Revision of the Penal Code, chaired by Professor Eduardo Correia, whose work resulted in the Penal Code of 1982.
In 1984 he completed his Master's Degree in Legal-Criminal Sciences at the Faculty of Law of the University of Coimbra. Defending the dissertation entitled "Criminal Record - History. Comparative Law. Political and Criminal Analysis", he obtained the classification of Very Good with Distinction and Honour (18/20).
In 1990, he collaborated with the Ministerial Commission, presided by Prof Jorge de Figueiredo Dias, on the revision of the Portuguese Penal Code of 1982 and which would result in the so-called Reform of 1995. 
He participated annually, for over twenty years (until 2018 and 2016, respectively) in post-graduate courses at the Institute of Economic and European Criminal Law (IDPEE) and the Institute of Banking, Stock Exchange and Insurance Law (BBS), both at the Faculty of Law of the University of Coimbra. 
In 2014, he as submitted to public exams for PhD in Legal-Criminal Sciences in the Faculty of Law of the University of Porto (FDUP), defending the dissertation "Personal unlawfulness, objective imputation and co-participation in criminal law", obtaining the maximum classification allowed by the regulations of the University of Porto then in force.
Researcher-integrated of the Legal Institute (IJ) of the FDUC, a FCT's accredited centre, since 2019, where he participates in the project "The Problem of Error in Criminal Law".
On 12 December 2019, he was elected by the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic as Member of the Superior Council of the Public Prosecutor's Office. In 2021, he joined the General Council of the Judicial Studies Centre (CEJ).
Since October 2020, he is the Director and President of the Scientific Committee of the 2nd Cycle of Studies in Law of the FDUP.